0

Stripy Cogs – an online group workshop – August 18th (get ready) and September 29th (main workshop)

£55.00

This is a live online course consisting of a one-hour ‘Get Ready!’ session to discuss the pattern, colour, templates and what prep you can do, followed a few weeks later by a four-hour group session via Zoom. The main workshop consists of two one-hour demo’s by me, each followed by solo sewing and questions by you. Both the ‘Get Ready!’ session and the workshop will be recorded for you to watch again (or at a later date if you can’t make the live sessions).

 

Times (Note the two different meeting times and dates):

Get Ready!Sunday
August 18th, 6-7pm  BST
 World Time Buddy

10am-11am PDT

12pm-1pm CDT

1pm-2pm EDT

Workshop – Sunday September 29th, 5pm-9pm BST World Time Buddy

9am-1pm PDT

11am-3pm CDT

12pm-4pm EDT

 

Learning objectives: 

In this class I will show you how to make a block I created for the Modern Times Quilt- the classic New York Beauty block but with a twist.

You will learn how to sew no-pin machine-pieced curves in three sizes whilst playing with my *Drunkard’s Path Templates, a tool that makes precise blocks that are easy to piece together.

We will cover all the stages of Foundation Paper Piecing using Freezer Paper- how to prep the paper, what stitch length to use, how best to put the block together and more.

Using stripes to fussy cut the cogs is covered in depth, creating striking effects with horizontal, vertical and chevron stripes. We will also talk about how the blocks can be made with other prints, fussy cut or not, to create different looks.

This is a block based class and we will not be following a quilt pattern. Off-piste sewing is highly encouraged. Check #thistlescogsandcaterpillarwheels for previous class samples.


Included:

•PDF paper templates

•PDF freezer-paper templates

•Cogs workshop notes (two block sizes, 7” and 14”)

•A recording of the Get ready! session and the workshop

•10% discount*

 

Level:

Suitable for confident beginners to advanced sewists. A basic quilting knowledge (how to use a rotary cutter and ruler and to sew using an accurate seam allowance e.t.c.) is assumed but no previous curved-piecing skills are needed.

 

Supplies list: 

•Quality fine sewing thread (40 or 50wt) in neutral or to match your project

•Cutting mat

•Rotary cutter

•Long gridded ruler

•Non-permanent marking tool/pen/chalk

•Pins

•Seam ripper

•Access to a printer (for the paper templates) OR my Acrylic templates

•Freezer paper

•Add a 1/4 ruler (useful but not necessary)

•18 mm rotary cutter (useful but not necessary)


10% Discount on the Complete and 14” Drunkard’s Path Sets used in class, the Oval and Long Oval sets as well as all Multiple and Supplementary sets in my shop.

14 in stock